The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join and Discover the Best Things to do with your Dog

Floyd's Eye And Funny Noises

Lise

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

Floyd's left eye, as you look at him, is a bit weepy, before I take him to the vet and other than wiping it with a bit of cotton wool and water is there anything I can do, and any ideas? Also sometimes, especially when we take him on a little walk, he starts so sniff in and out, it' more than a little sniff, it's more like a small snort, as though he has a fly or dust in his nose, I have checked but it seems clear? Also what kind of weight should he be at 19 weeks, I look at some pics on here and think his chest and shoulders look a bit boney :(

sorry to keep picking your brains but I am a complete whippet novice.

Here's another picture, that, i hasten to add, is not my hairy knee!

Lise

Floyd_067.jpg

He might be a bit hay-fevery if it is only watering and the snorting sounds like reverse sneezing which Whippets seems to do quite a lot. If, when he is doing it, you put a finger & thumb either side of his windpipe right up where his lower jaw joins his neck and squeeze gently to make him swallow, he will stop.

No advice sorry - just to say what a gorgeous picture of Floyd :wub: :wub:

Pups do for ever stick their noses where they should not! And get stuff in their eyes. Yesterday we had some sand delivered and the dogs had a great time in it. Madelaine got it in her eyes, which became bit red and weepy. In such a circumstances I use eye drops from chemist, just to wash the eyes out. This usually clears the problem. If not I would get an eye ointment from my vet.

:luck:

Lida

He is sooo gorgeous. Have you said some where what he breeding is? Just being nosey, but he really is stunning.